In the summertime, the number of minors working increases. Here are some basic guidelines when it comes to hiring minors in the state of Colorado.
Minors are any person under the age of 18, unless they have received a high school diploma or received a passing scored on the GED.
No minors are allowed to work more than 40 hours in a week, or more than eight hours in any 24 hour period.
Excluding specific exceptions, no minor under the age of 14 is allowed to work in the state of Colorado
Not including a few exceptions, no minors under the age of 16 is allowed to work between the hours of 9:30 pm- 5:30 a.m., unless they are babysitters
Work permits are not required by Colorado law
These few guidelines are the basic things to remember when hiring minors. For more information on minor labor laws or requirements, exemptions, and prohibitions, please contact a StaffScapes representative at (303) 466-7864, or visit the Colorado DOL website at http://www.coworkforce.com/LAB/